Health Communication

My (Unfinished) HealthCom Journey Series: Part Four

When I first started college, I was sure that I would major in nursing and have a career as a nurse. Like many college students, I changed my mind (more than once), but my area of study never changed. I have always had an interest in health.

My interest in health first began during my junior year of high school. At this time, my father was in an industrial accident and spent a couple of weeks in a burn intensive care unit. After witnessing the care he received and helping after he was home, I was convinced that I wanted to be a nurse. But after some time, I realized that I liked the idea of nursing more than what the job would actually entail.

After much consideration, changing my major more than a couple of times, and taking time off from school, I decided to pursue health care administration. I completed my bachelor’s degree in December of 2010 from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

After some difficulty finding a job after graduation, I decided to go back to school to complete my master’s degree. Knowing what some of my long-term career goals were, I knew that I did not want to pursue a master’s of health care administration. I knew that my long-term career goals did not include becoming a director of a health care facility.

After exploring my options, I decided to pursue a master’s of health communication from Boston University’s Metropolitan College. I felt that this program was a good complement to my undergraduate studies in that it added the communications piece that I felt was missing.

My health communication journey is largely unfinished because I have yet to begin a career in health communication. It has been more than a year since I completed my master’s, but I am still stuck in the same job I have had since before completing my bachelor’s. I now fear that I am over educated and under qualified for many jobs. I know that my lack of experience is part of what holds me back and keeps me from getting responses to applications I place. I am fighting an oversaturated job market where multiple applicants have the experience that employers are looking for in addition to the degree.

One thing I do know is that I am grateful for HealthComU and the women I get to work with every day. I am constantly able to learn from them, and they provide with advice and support as I take the long route on my health communication journey.

Original post.

Leave a Reply

